top of page

Why I write...

After years of skiing down mountains, sailing oceans and backpacking to exotic places, I needed a different form of stimulation, a new adventure, something that would bring me even closer to my inner self.

My journey into writing began when I handed my wife a copy of a journal I kept after returning from India, and she suggested I publish it. I rejected her idea, only because my journal was an exact account of my adventure. That was the problem--it was all true, and if I decided to write books, they had to be fiction where I could make things up and find out what was going on in my imagination. Besides, writing fiction would give me the oppotunity to lie a lot.--always a plus--and justified.

The main problem was I didn't know anything about how to write a novel--zero, so I read what I could, joined a writer's group and learned the basics--the very basics.

After awhile, (A long while) there was nothing more beautiful (and frustrating) to me as a blank page. I stared at many blank pages until I wrote the first line of my first novel, Rick never forgot the day that Julie died. There it was, pure and simple, in print and in front of my eyes. After months of writing Meeting Max it was finished, or at least I thought, not realizing it was only a first draft.

So, I learned the first and most important thing I needed to know. Writing the first draft is only the beginning. Putting your draft aside for a few weeks and going back to it lets you see it with new eyes --perhaps more insightful eyes. So with the help of my beautiful wife, editing and rewriting the book was a pleasure--oops! A lie. The truth is that it was tedious and boring, but it had to be done and a year later it was a lot closer to the finish--In reality, a book is never finished. You could always add more and even after it's published new changes come to mind.

So why do I write? For one thing, writing takes me to places I've never been and allows me to meet people I've never known--my characters. I know what they think and feel. I know their weaknesses and strengths and all their inner secrets. My characters become real people to me--people I've created from my imagination and who are now part of my life.I even introduce them to my family and friends and now, they know about them too.

Writing gives me a place to go in the morning and has become a new adventure--a new passion-more thrilling than anything else. I've written five books. All of them well received, made new friends with other writers, did book signings and came face-to-face with my readers--answered questions, discussed the characters--the plot. It was a new life!

***

Why I stopped writing...

June 14, 2017

Three years and five books later I've had my taste of being an author

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page